IKT

IKT – Institute for Underground Infrastructure

Five major topics for further action identified by IKT’s new International Contact Group on sewerage issues

Posted 19. September 2017
0 Comments

web conference

Members of IKT’s International Contact Group met online to make contact and discuss current issues.

At their first web conference members of IKT’s newly formed International Contact Group (ICG) met recently to make contact and to discuss current issues concerning sewer systems. The participants, from eleven countries on four continents, identified major topics for further action through more detailed exchange of ideas, seminars or joint projects.

The options and opportunities for joint initiatives were discussed at this first online meeting of the international partners and friends of IKT. Five topics have been identified to take forward for joint actions:

  • CIPP and quality control
  • Sewer pressure pipes: operation and rehabilitation
  • Liquid soil/flowable backfill material
  • Sustainable management/asset management of sewer systems
  • Flushable wipes and sewer blockages

The results and suggestions for further action are summarized in this paper.

Major topic: CIPP and quality control – crown pressure test on a CIPP liner

Each of these actions will be supported by an International Advisory Board (IAB) that IKT is recruiting. If you are interested in participating in one or more of these actions please let us know.
The project coordinator for all of these is Thomas Brüggemann of IKT.
brueggemann@ikt.de
+49-209-17806-18

Worldwide connections

Participants from Algeria, Austria, Belgium, Finland, Germany, Italy, Luxemburg, the Netherlands, Singapore, United Kingdom, and the USA joined the web meeting. Other Group members from seven other countries (Brazil, Canada, France, India, Japan, Niger, and South Korea) were not able to attend this time.

International experts gave short presentations on current projects and issues of importance:

  • Thomas Ertl, University Boku Vienna, Austria
  • Ang Chee Meng, CH2M, Singapore
  • Mandy Fletton, UKWIR, United Kingdom

liquid soil

Major topic: Liquid soil/flowable backfill material

The next meeting of the International Contact Group will be held on November 21 2017, 8:00 UTC (approx. 60 minutes). Please check your local time, UTC is relevant. (3 am New York – 8 am London – 9 am Berlin – 4 pm Singapore – 5 pm Tokyo)

The agenda will follow and will include short updates on the five major topics. Guests are welcome.

Be a part of it!

The International Contact Group is open to new members – experts from network operators, authorities, and associations, as well as scientists. If you want to take part in our regular exchange of thoughts and knowledge join ICG!

For any questions please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Contact

Bert Bosseler
T: +49-209-17806-0
E: bosseler@ikt.de
Thomas Brüggemann
T: +49-209-17806-18
E: brueggemann@ikt.de

 

image_pdfimage_print

Share and recommend

 

Contact:
IKT - Institute for Underground Infrastructure
neutral, independent, non-profit

T: +49 (0) 209 17806-0
E: info@ikt.de

www.ikt.de
www.facebook.com/IKTonline
www.youtube.com/IKTonline

 

No Comments

Your comment